Hacienda Records

Ruben Valdez - El Pobre Y El Rico

Stock # HAC 8464

Hacienda Records presents the legendary Ruben Valdez with his latest CD “El Pobre Y El Rico”.  The history of Ruben Valdez can be traced to the early 60’s in Weslaco, Texas, where he started playing accordion professionally at the age of 13.  As a youngster he was a member of “Los Donenos” and “Perfecto Rodriguez Y Su Conjunto”.

His performing took an unexpected hiatus in the late 60’s as the US draft led Ruben Valdez to the front lines of Viet Nam.  As a US Marine, he defended his country with pride and honor; despite being wounded on several occasions requiring multiple surgeries.    Upon his discharge from the military Valdez quickly picked up right where he left off in the music industry.  Touring all over the US with his Conjunto, Valdez also shared the stage with such talents as Ricardo Mejia, Gilberto Perez, Los Fantasmas and many others. 

To this date Valdez has composed close to 100 songs and features his original compositions in most of his recordings.  This new dynamic CD is no exception as 8 of the 10 songs on this album are original compositions by Valdez himself.  Traditional Conjunto at its best, this CD features foot stomping rancheras, boleros and cumbias.  Highlights include “Es Un Sueno” “ Las Nueras Ya No Quieren A Las Suegras” “El Pobre Y El Rico “ and many more.

Track Listing

  1. EL Pobre Y El Rico 
  1. Escarmienta 
  1. Corazón Corazón 
  1. Es Un Sueno
  1. Aconsejada 
  1. Por Orgullo
  1. Tu Ya No Soplas
  1. Ya Puedes Largarte
  1. Las Nueras Ya No Quieren A Las Suegras
  1. Pienso En Ti


Follow us on Twitter!


Enter your email to be added to our Hacienda emailing list.